Backup, restore & synchronize Printoid

The backup/restore/synchronize feature allows you to share configuration of the application across multiple versions of the app (when migrating from LITE to PREMIUM for example) or across multiple devices (your smartphone and a tablet for example).

  • Printoid v6.04 introduced the local backup and restore feature
  • Printoid v12.00 introduced the cloud backup and restore feature

CLOUD BACKUP, RESTORE & SYNC

You can create your own Printoid account to backup/restore/sync all your app configuration in the cloud.

Account creation can be done using your email address, or directly with your Google account.

1. Create your account and sync your configuration

From the left menu of the app, select “Printoid Account

Screenshot_20200503-141133_Printoid Premium

Create your account using your email address or using your Google account.

Your configuration will be synchronized automatically:

  • A backup to your cloud account is performed every time you close the app
  • A restore from your cloud account is performed every time you open the app

You can also trigger backup / restore on demand by opening again the Printoid Account page.

2. Restore from your cloud account

After installing the app on a new device (or installing Printoid PREMIUM after having test the LITE version) then you will be prompted to synchronize the app with an existing Printoid Account.

  1. When the app starts, click on “I HAVE AN ACCOUNT”
  2. Sign-in to your account to restore your configuration
  3. A restart of the app is needed to apply the configuration

3. Privacy Policy

Please read carefully the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy of the Printoid services before creating your Printoid Account.

T&C and Privacy Policy →

BACKUP AND RESTORE LOCALLY

If you don’t want to synchronize your configuration in the cloud, then Printoid offers you a local backup & restore feature.

1. Create your local backup

From the App Settings, go to the “+” tab and scroll to the Backup & restore section.

Screenshot_20200503-141219_Printoid Premium

  1. Click on the “Backup” button to create your local backup
  2. Allow the “Write external storage” permission when prompted
  3. If your backup is created with success, it can be found under the following location
<sdcard>/Printoid/settings/

2. Restore your local backup

From the App Settings, go to the “+” tab and scroll to the Backup & restore section.

Screenshot_20200503-141219_Printoid Premium

  1. Click on the “Restore” button to restore your local backup
  2. Allow the “Read external storage” permission if prompted
  3. If the restore succeed, you need to restart the app to apply the configuration

3. Restore local backup on a new device

Follow the step 1 on your old device (Create your local backup) and install the application on your new device.

 

  1. Copy the local backup from your old device to the storage of your new device
  2. Open the app on your new device
  3. Click on the “MORE BACKUP OPTIONS” button
  4. Allow the “Read external storage” permission when prompted
  5. Click on the “RESTORE LOCAL BACKUP” button
  6. If the restore succeed, you need to restart the app to apply the configuration

MIGRATE FROM LITE (or PRO) TO PREMIUM

When you have both Printoid LITE (or PRO) and Printoid PREMIM installed on your phone, then the new app you’ve just installed is able to automatize the restoration of the configuration without having to create a Printoid Account and without having to perform a backup manually first.

 

  1. Open the new app (Printoid PREMIUM)
  2. Click on the “MORE BACKUP OPTIONS” button
  3. Allow the “Read external storage” permission when prompted
  4. Click on the “RESTORE FROM PRINTOID LITE” button
  5. Follow the instructions and restart the app to apply the configuration

IMPORTANT NOTES

When you uninstall Printoid from your device, the local backup is not removed from your external storage.

If you have installed Printoid LITE and Printoid PREMIUM on the same device, so they will share the same backup folder.

When you apply a backup, the app will restart automatically if it succeeded. This operation can take a few seconds. If the app does not restart by itself, then simply launch it manually.

 


5 thoughts on “Backup, restore & synchronize Printoid

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s